Writing…a Better Resolution

Writing

The new year always brings about resolutions and goal setting.  However, I feel like I only make it to about mid-January especially when it comes to new exercise plans.  However, this year I want to make a goal to take some time to unplug from technology and write, whether it is just random thoughts, lists or goals for the week.  I want to make sure I do this.  But you can’t write your lovely thoughts down on just any old notepad now can you?  I’ve rounded up some of my absolute favorite notebooks and journals.

Notebooks and Journals

Notebooks – I love these Apica notebooks there is something about the paper, it is so smooth and easy to write on.  I buy them locally at an Asian market, but you can also find them here.  What is really neat about them is that although they have cardstock covers, the binding is really strong and they do not fall apart.   I’ve used them as travel journals in the past and love them.

Traditional Writers – will love the timeless simplicity of the moleskin notebooks, no frills here, but a true gem, used by many great minds, Van Gogh, Picasso and Hemingway…to learn more about the history of these notebooks read here, it is quite an interesting read.

Travel Note Book – These lovely journal will keep you on track for all of your traveling goals for 2015.  There is something about fine stationary that is vibrant that just begs you to write in it.  Another lovely selection are these lovely floral journals all from the Rifle Paper Co.

Kate Spade notebooks are sure to impress, these can be found at Paper Source, I love the black and white stripes.

Studio Oh has some very delightful and colorful journals and notebooks, I love the brightly colored covers.  They are a great price too.  Live the Life You’ve Imagined | The Trio

One Line a Day Journals are perfect for the bussiest of people, one line only – you’ve got that.  This hardcover bound beauty would be perfect for you to jot down your thought.  Not to mention it is published by Chronicle so you know its going to be great.

Gratitude journal I stumbled across this book at this incredibly calming shop called The Writers’ Workshoppe on our travels in Port Townsend, Wa – this is a place where you can go into a calm and serene environment and look at all the tools you might need to procure to write your next novel.  This journal is small and helps you keep focus on the positive, which I really like.

There are tons of options out there for lovely journals and note books.  I’ve even seen some fantastic tutorials on making your own, my favorite one is from Amber at Damask Love, it’s a great tutorial using composition books and pretty paper from Paper Source.  Love her site.

So many options to choose from, I think the hardest part of this resolution will be choosing which journal you like the best.

Erin

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment